The James Taylor Quartet – ’The Money Spyder’. Clear-vinyl LP reissue out 27 October, 2023. Pre-order now. The birth of Acid Jazz in one record…

Continuing our 35th Anniversary series, reissuing foundation Acid Jazz records on colour vinyl, we’re excited to present a new, remastered, clear vinyl edition of The James Taylor Quartet’s seminal debut ‘The Money Spyder’.

Taking the form of a classic soundtrack, the album perfectly encapsulates the sound of acid jazz on one record – heavy, organ-driven instrumentals led by Hammond maestro James Taylor. The sublime mixture of Booker T-styled grooves and Lalo Schifrin-inspired soundtrack elements.

1.   The Money Spyder
2.   One Way Street
3.   Car Chase
4.   The Spiral Staircase
5.   Mr. Cool’s Dream
6.   A Real Mean Time
7.   The Onion Club
8.   The Stroll
9.   ‘Los Cuevos Pablo’
10. Midnight Stump (The New Rumba)
11. Buzy Bee
12. In The Park